

Media Release

21 November 2024

New Leadership Team for Committee for Brisbane

The Committee for Brisbane is delighted to announce that Mike Kissane has been elected to the position of President of its Management Committee for a two-year term.

The election was conducted at the Committee for Brisbane's Annual General Meeting last night (20 November), which was attended by a cross-section of the Committee's broad membership base.

"I am honoured to be taking on this role at such a pivotal time for Greater Brisbane," Mr Kissane said.

"There is a palpable sense of optimism across the city region, and I am excited to be in a position to help bring together key stakeholders to ensure we leverage every opportunity in the decade ahead."

Mr Kissane is Deloitte's Global Leader for Economic Advisory and Lead Partner, Queensland Public Sector. Prior to his election as President, he served as Vice-President of the Committee for Brisbane.

Mr Kissane takes over the position from Kristan Conlon, Chair of Partners at McCullough Robertson Lawyers, who is retiring from the Committee after an impressive six-year tenure, including the past year as President.

"It has been a great privilege to lead the Committee for Brisbane during such a significant year for the city and for the organisation," Ms Conlon said.

"Having been part of the Committee for Brisbane since its genesis, I leave feeling proud of the strong legacy I have contributed to and confident in its continued ability to advocate for the liveability of the region."

Last night's proceedings also saw the election of two new Vice-Presidents for the Committee for Brisbane-Jake Anson, GM Government, Venues and Major Projects with the Brisbane Lions, and Shannon Willoughby, Executive Director for Strategic Partnerships- Government and Industry with the University of Queensland.

Both Mr Anson and Ms Willoughby were existing members of the Management Committee.

Jen Williams, CEO of the Committee for Brisbane, extended a warm welcome to new members elected to the Management Committee, and to those stepping into new positions.

"As a member-led organisation, the Committee for Brisbane is reliant on the passion and expertise of its members, who so generously offer up their time and resources to help drive our vision of Greater Brisbane as the world's most liveable place," Ms Williams said.

"As we embark on new strategic focus areas in 2025, I am delighted to be working with such an esteemed group of individuals who will ensure our research, advocacy and thought leadership continue to deliver a positive legacy for Greater Brisbane."

ENDS

Media Contact: Jen Williams 0448 432 936

GPO Box 3008, Brisbane QLD 4001 committeeforbrisbane.org.au

Committee for Brisbane Management Committee

- President- Mike Kissane, Deloitte (continuing- new position)
- Vice President- Jake Anson, Brisbane Lions (continuing- new position)
- Vice President- Shannon Willoughby, University of Queensland (continuing- new position)
- Treasurer- Tony Young, BDO (continuing)
- Secretary- Meredith Hartigan (continuing)
- David Benett, Enigma (continuing)
- Paul Coory, COHA (continuing)
- Peter Edwards, Archipelago (continuing)
- Dai Gwynn-Jones, Portfolio (continuing)
- Prof Gene Moyle, QUT (continuing)
- Dr Caroline Riot, Griffith University (continuing)
- Matthew Beasley, Dexus (newly elected)
- Stuart Macnaughton, McCullough Robertson Lawyers (newly elected)
- Karryn Wheelans, The Star Entertainment Group (newly elected)

Retired at this election

- Kristan Conlon, McCullough Robertson Lawyers (President)
- Prof Alan Patching, Bond University (Vice President)- joining Committee for Brisbane's Advisory Council